Qirat Quran Online

The Six Kalmas of Islam

The Six Kalmas of Islam

The Six Kalmas are a collection of essential assertions that sum up a Muslim’s fundamental beliefs. Millions of believers around the world have their beliefs and spiritual practices based on these succinct remarks. We will examine the import and importance of the Six Kalmas in this thorough guide, as well as how they constitute a spiritual journey of proclamation.

Understanding the Six Kalmas

The “Six Phrases’ ‘ or “Six Articles of Faith,’ ‘ commonly referred to as the “Six Kalmas,’ ‘ are Islamic affirmations of religion. Muslims of various ages and backgrounds recite and remember them to strengthen their connection to Allah and to support their religious convictions.

The Six Kalmas

  • 1st Kalma:

Kalma Tayyab (The Declaration of Purity):

لَا إِلَٰهَ إِلَّا ٱللَّٰهُ مُحَمَّدٌ رَّسُولُ ٱللَّٰهِ‎

“There is no deity except Allah, and Muhammad is the messenger of Allah.”

  • 2nd Kalma:

Kalma Shahada (The Declaration of Testimony):

أَشْهَدُ أَنْ لَا إِلَٰهَ إِلَّا ٱللَّٰهُ وَحْدَهُ لَا شَرِيكَ لَهُ وأَشْهَدُ أَنَّ مُحَمَّدًا عَبْدُهُ وَرَسُولُهُ‎

I bear witness that there is no deity except Allah, alone, without a partner, and I bear witness that Muhammad is His servant and messenger.”

  • 3rd kalma:

Kalma Tamjeed (The Declaration of Glory):

سُبْحَانَ ٱللَّٰهِ وَٱلْحَمْدُ لِلَّٰهِ وَلَا إِلَٰهَ إِلَّا ٱللَّٰهُ وَٱللَّٰهُ أَكْبَرُ وَلَا حَوْلَ وَلَا قُوَّةَ إِلَّا بِٱللَّٰهِ ٱلْعَلِيِّ ٱلْعَظِيمِ‎

“Glorified is Allah (God), [all] praise is due to Allah (God), there is no deity except Allah (God), Allah (God) is greater [than everything], and there is no power nor strength except in Allah (God), the Lofty, the Great.”

  • 4th Kalma:

Kalma Tawhid (The Declaration of Monotheism):

لَا إِلَٰهَ إِلَّا ٱللَّٰهُ وَحْدَهُ لَا شَرِيكَ لَهُ، لَهُ ٱلْمُلْكُ وَلَهُ ٱلْحَمْدُ، يُحْيِي وَيُمِيتُ وَهُوَ حَيٌّ لَا يَمُوتُ أَبَدًا أَبَدًا، ذُو ٱلْجَلَالِ وَٱلْإِكْرَامِ بِيَدِهِ ٱلْخَيْرُ وَهُوَ عَلَىٰ 

كُلِّ شَيْءٍ قَدِيرٌ

There is no deity but Allah (God) alone and has no partners. To Him belongs all sovereignty and to Him belongs all Praise. He gives life and causes death, and He [Himself] is alive and does not die, ever! Ever! He of Majesty and Munificence. In His hand is all goodness and He has power over everything.

  • 5th kalma:

Kalma Istighfar (The Declaration of Repentance):

أَسْتَغْفِرُ ٱللَّٰهَ رَبِّي مِنْ كُلِّ ذَنْبٍ أَذْنَبْتُهُ عَمَدًا أَوْ خَطَأً سِرًّا أوْ عَلَانِيَةً وَأَتُوبُ إِلَيْهِ مِنَ ٱلذَّنْبِ ٱلَّذِي أَعْلَمُ وَمِنَ ٱلذَّنْبِ ٱلَّذِي لَا أَعْلَمُ، إِنَّكَ أَنْتَ عَلَّامُ ٱلْغُيُوبِ وَسَتَّارُ ٱلْعُيُوْبِ وَغَفَّارُ ٱلذُّنُوبِ وَلَا حَوْلَ وَلَا قُوَّةَ إِلَّا بِٱللَّٰهِ ٱلْعَلِيِّ ٱلْعَظِيمِ

“I seek the forgiveness of Allah (God), my Lord, for every sin which I knowingly committed and every sin which I unknowingly committed. Verily, You are the Knower of the hidden, the Concealer of the faults, and the Forgiver of the sins, and there is no power nor strength except in Allah (God), the Lofty, the Great.”

  • 6th Kalma:

Kalma Radde Kufr (The Declaration of Rejection of Disbelief):

ٱللَّٰهُمَّ إِنِّي أَعُوذُ بِكَ مِنْ أَنْ أُشْرِكَ بِكَ شَيْءً وَأَنَا أَعْلَمُ بِهِ وَأَسْتَغْفِرُكَ لِمَا لَا أَعْلَمُ بِهِ تُبْتُ عَنْهُ وَتَبَرَّأَتُ مِنَ ٱلْكُفْر وَٱلشِّرْكِ وَٱلْكِذْبِ وَٱلْغِيبَةِ وَٱلْبِدْعَةِ وَٱلنَّمِيمَةِ وَٱلْفَوَاحِشِ وَٱلْبُهْتَانِ وَٱلْمَعَاصِي كُلِّهَا وَأَسْلَمْتُ وَأَقُولُ لَا إِلَٰهَ إِلَّا ٱللَّٰهُ مُحَمَّدٌ رَسُولُ ٱللَّٰهِ

“O Allah (God)! I seek refuge in You from that I should not join any partner with You and I know of it, and I seek Your forgiveness from that which I do not know. I repent from it and I reject disbelief, polytheism, falsehood, backbiting, deviation, defamation, immorality, calumny and all sinfulness. I submit to You and I declare: There is no deity but Allah (God), Muhammad is the messenger of Allah (God).”

The Significance of the Six Kalmas:

The fundamental principles of Islam are attested to by the Six Kalmas:

  • Monotheism:

The belief in Allah’s unity is emphasized through the Kalma Tayyab and Kalma Tawhid. They are a proclamation of the fundamental Islamic principle of Tawheed.

  • Prophethood:

The Kalma Shahada recognizes Muhammad as Allah’s final prophet and messenger. It expresses confidence in his message and direction.

  • Glorification:

The Kalma Tamjeed exalts Allah and proclaims His sovereignty and greatness. It serves as a reminder to believers of the significance of glorifying and worshiping Allah in all spheres of life.

  • Repentance:

The Kalma Istighfar acknowledges human frailty and the necessity of pleading with Allah for mercy. It serves as a reminder that everyone commits sin, and that the only way to earn Allah’s mercy is through repentance.

  • Rejection of Disbelief:

The Kalma Radde Kufr is an affirmation of faith and a request for protection against equating other people with Allah. It supports the Islamic belief that shirk—associating others with Allah is forbidden.

Application of the Six Kalmas in Daily Life

The Six Kalmas are fundamental to Muslims’ daily life and are more than merely recitations:


The Kalmas are frequently recited during morning prayers as a reminder of faith and Islamic beliefs.

Spiritual Reflection:

Muslims often ponder the significance of the Kalmas and how they affect their daily lives as they meditate on their meanings.

Teaching and Education:

Children and new converts are taught the Kalmas, which serve as a vehicle for disseminating Islam’s core values.

Supplication and Repentance:

Recitation of the Kalma Istighfar emphasizes the value of real repentance and turning to Allah at times of seeking forgiveness.


For defense against doubt and false beliefs, seeking Allah’s guidance, and preserving one’s faith, the Kalma Radde Kufr is chanted.

The Spiritual Journey of Declaration:

For Muslims, the Six Kalmas signify a path of spiritual discovery. They lead adherents through the fundamental principles of their religion, including monotheistic, the significance of asking for forgiveness, and the rejection of atheism. This journey is an ongoing process that strengthens the fundamental Islamic beliefs and values while also deepening the believer’s relationship with Allah.


The Six Kalmas are professions of religion and belief that have great significance for Muslims. They are not just plain words. They embody the fundamental principles of Islam and lead followers on a spiritual path of declaration, connection, and comprehension. The unity of Allah, the necessity of repentance, and the denial of doubt are emphasized in these verses. Muslims continue to develop their faith and relationship with Allah via consistent recitation and reflection, making the Six Kalmas a crucial aspect of their spiritual path


What does Kalma mean?

“Kalma” is an Arabic term that translates to “word” or “declaration.” In an Islamic context, it refers to the fundamental statements of faith.

Why is Kalma important?

Kalma is important as it represents the core beliefs of a Muslim, serving as a declaration of faith, acknowledging the oneness of Allah and the prophethood of Muhammad (Peace Be Upon Him).

What is the first Kalma of Muslims?

The first Kalma of Muslims is the Shahada, declaring the belief in the oneness of Allah and the Prophethood of Muhammad (Peace Be Upon Him).

Share on >>

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on skype
Scroll to Top

Get A Free 3 Days Trial

Contact Form